Setting up User Permissions in Vitruvi™

How Permissions, Roles, and Companies work to control what Vitruvi™ users can see and do in their workspace.

Your Vitruvi™ workspace may include many types of users who need to see different types of information for security reasons. Permissions allow you to define what different users get to see and edit.

Video

Vitruvi Permissions - Final_3

How permissions work in Vitruvi™

A permission allows a user to see a kind of information or perform an action in Vitruvi™. All the necessary permissions for your workspace should already be set up.

Permissions are assigned to the different Roles and Companies in the system; then, users get permissions based on the Role(s) they have and the Company they belong to. This means anyone with the role of “Engineer”, for example, can see/edit certain data, or anyone from the company "Fresnel Software" can see/edit certain data.

Assigning permissions to a user through Roles and Companies

First, assign the appropriate Roles to users depending on the user’s position. Users should already be under a Company from when they were entered into the system. Then, set up the Roles and Companies in your system with the appropriate permissions for all users within them.

Hidden Permissions: Two permission sets cannot be changed on the website. If the user is checked off as a "Superuser" in the API back-end of Vitruvi™, they will get ALL permissions automatically. Furthermore, if a user's company is classified as a Subcontractor rather than an EPC, they will automatically be unable to see data from any other Subcontractor in the system.

File and Folder Permissions: Files and folders will automatically inherit the permissions of the element they are attached to. Anyone with permission to view that element will also be able to view the files attached to that element.

Steps to assign Permissions

This section goes through the general workflow of assigning permissions. For more details about what each permission type means, see our Permissions reference article.

To make it easier to assign permissions, you can use the Columns filter (see below) to show only the Company or Role you're working on at the moment.

002-Columns

For each page under Companies or Roles, click the "Edit" button at the top right of the table to edit permissions. When finished, click "Save Changes" to save (see below).

000-Edit

 

Step 1: Company permissions

Start from the right-most tab on the screen. Assign Client permissions to each Company in the system.

003-Companies_Client

 

Then, assign Region permissions to each company in the system.

004-Companies_Region

 

Keep in mind that the "Company" permission groups are very large buckets, which incorporate a great many employees from disparate departments - do not assign permissions here unless you want EVERYONE in the company to have them.

Note: Permissions are Additive, so if you want someone to NOT see something, simply leave it unchecked.

While you can assign module-based permissions to Companies, these permissions are very granular, and more suited to fall under Roles.

Step 2: Role permissions

Continue towards the left of the screen to assign permissions based on Role. Assign Module permissions through the tab on the far left. Since Roles are more specific than Companies, you can assign more granular permissions here, including the very granular Work Order Category permissions.

008-Roles_Module1

WARNING: Do not give a field worker  "Construction Manager" modules unless you want that worker to approve field reports. As best practice, give the "Lead Worker" role to people who need to access Work in the field, and "Construction Manager" only to those who are supervising.

While you can assign Client- and Region-based permissions to Roles, these permissions are broader in scope, and more suited to fall under Companies.

Step 3: Review on People permissions page

Once you're finished assigning permissions to Roles and Companies, you can review all permissions for each person in the system from the "People" pages. This is a read-only page, and provides an overview of all permissions that each employee in the system has based on their assigned Role and Company.

people (read only)

Congratulations - you learned how to assign Permissions in Vitruvi™!